Home / Kickboxing / Glory / Glory 37 Results

Glory 37 Results

Glory 37
James Law, GLORY Sports International

Glory 37 took place at The Novo in Los Angeles, California. The event featured two Glory titles on the line, but only one of the four fighters competing walked out a champion.

In the main event of the Glory 37 main card Jason Wilnis (@JasonJagu) and Israel Adesanya (@StyleBender) battled five rounds for the Glory middleweight championship. Wilnis had a simple strategy to defend his belt, move forward and throw strikes. From the opening bell he pressed the action and followed his punches with low kicks. Adesanya was looking to counter and was able to mix in some flashy strikes like spining kicks into his attacks, but Wilnis kept moving forward and landing leg kicks. In the later rounds Adesanya started to find his range with his strikes, but it was too little too late. The fight went to the judges and Wilnis was awarded a unanimous decision to make his first title defense a success.

Glory 37
James Law, GLORY Sports International

In the headlining bout of the Super Fight Series Robin van Roosmalen (@RobinVRoosmalen) was set to defend his featherweight title, but after missing weight he was stripped of the belt. The title was still on the line, but only for Matt Embree (@Muay_Matics). The bout was pretty even for the first two rounds with van Roosmalen pressing the action. Embree was able to avoid almost everything van Roosmalen threw at him and return some fire, although a good amount of leg kicks from van Roosmalen connected. In the third round it seemed the tide changed and van Roosmalen started to take control as he started to connect with his punches in addition to his leg kicks. The bout ended in the fourth round when a body shot from van Roosmalen hurt Embree and referee John McCarthy jumped in to stop the bout. It seemed like it might have been a premature stoppage, but Embree did not complain. With the win van Roosmalen now becomes the number one contender for the Glory featherweight championship.

A title shot was on the line in the night’s welterweight tournament and Yoann Kongolo (@YoannKongolo) made sure he was not going to squander the opportunity. Kongolo defeated Konstantin Khuzin (@Khuzin_Kostya) in the tournament semi-final by unanimous decision and then in the tournament final he scored third round knockout of Karim Benmansour. Kongolo knocked Benmansour down at the end of the second round, and the final knockdown came with 3 seconds left in the fight.

Glory 37 Results:

Main Card
Jason Wilnis def. Israel Adesanay via Unanimous Decision – Defends Glory Middleweight Championship
Guto Inocente def. D’Angelo Marshall via Extra Round Decision

Welterweight Tournament Semi-Finals
Yoan Kongolo def. Konstantin Khuzin via Unanimous Decision
Karim Benmansour def. Alan Scheinson via Split Decision

Welterweight Tournament Final
Yoan Kongolo def. Karim Benmansour via KO at 2:57 of Rd. 3

Super Fight Series
Robin van Roosmalen def. Matt Embree via (T)KO at 2:00 of Rd. 4
Jhonata Diniz def. Tomas Mozny via Unanimous Decision
Warren Thompson def. Mike Lemaire via Unanimous Decision
Zoila Frausto def. Daniela Graf via Unanimous Decision
Giga Chikadze def. Victor Pinto via KO (Liver Kick) at 2:03 of Rd. 1

Josh Aragon def. Joe Davidson via Unanimous Decision
Andre Walker def. Miguel Cosio via (T)KO (Corner Stoppage) at 2:37 of Rd. 3
Jermaine Soto def. Mario Navaro via Unanimous Decision
Jared Papazian def. Travis Garlits via Split Decision

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *